Anne Arundel County Maryland Chapter

On May 16, 2010, the Anne Arundel County Alumnae Chapter - Lambda Delta Sigma was chartered by 11 phenomenal members with a "technology centric" approach committed to an audacious and engaging approach to community service programming and a model for sorority engagement that encouraged sorors to give of their time, talent and treasure to Sigma in ways that compliment their lifestyle.

(Jean Malone, Kimberly Ellison-Taylor, Delores Routh, Debra Y. Hughes, Adrienne Waite, Alisande Y. Brook, Katrina Gray, Shenell Bolden, Temica Ferigon, Nakia Singleton, April Lewis)

The ceremony and reception was held at the Sheraton Annapolis Hotel, Annapolis, Maryland. Many dignitaries were among the 80 guests who attended this first major event. Northeast Region Syntaktes, Deborah I. Walsh conducted the chartering ceremony and installed the new officers. Undergraduate Chapter Coordinator, Linnette Y. Caroselli, presented the occasion. Proclamations were presented to the chapter by the Honorable Aisha Braveboy, Esq., Delegate for Maryland 25th District for her district, the Governor, Speaker of the House, several senators and representatives and the Mayor of the City of Annapolis, MD.

Representatives, were in attendance, from the other Maryland Chapters included Alpha Alpha Sigma - Baltimore City, MD; Zeta Tau Sigma - Mt Rainier, MD; Zeta Omega Sigma - Randallstown, MD; Eta Iota Sigma - Chevy Chase, MD and Eta Xi Chapter - Towson State University, Towsow, Maryland.

In keeping with the mission of the sorority, the Lambda Delta Sigma Chapter has partnered with various organizations to enhance the quality of life in Anne Arundel County. Since 2010, the Lambda Delta Sigma Chapter has has the opportunity to work with the YWCA of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County in mentoring program that emphasize community service, academics and self-esteem, and Sarah's House to help fight childhood obesity and promote Healthy Living, which is an extension of the sorority's signature program, Project Reassurance. The children at Sarah's House were also the recipients of more than 70 pairs of shoes through the Soles for Little Souls initiative, which the sorority provided disadvantaged children across the nation pairs of shoes as they head back to school. In addition, Lambda Delta Sigma has partnered with the Annapolis Housing Authority, who was a sponsor of the Youth Symposium, the sorority's annual event that focuses on prevalent concerns that negatively impact our youth and the Anne Arundel County Department of Social Services for Operation BigBookBag, which is an initiative that provides book bags filled with educational materials, equipment, and school supplies to at-risk youth.

The Lambda Delta Sigma Chapter continues to support Operation Welcome Home Maryland activities, Autism Speaks Walk - Baltimore, March of Dimes Walk, and Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Walk. Through these efforts, the Lambda Delta Sigma Chapter was awarded the 2011 Coretta Scott King Award at the Anne Arundel County Martin Luther King Awards Dinner. The Chapter was also the recipient of the 2013 Mary Lou Allison Gardner Little Loving Cup Award, which is awarded to the chapter reporting the most successful programs.

Since the May 16, 2010, chartering of Lambda Delta Sigma Chapter, it has more than 100 members and continues to grow in sized. The women of the Lambda Delta Sigma represent an impressive tapestry of excellence, including those who are successfully managing families and homes, running businesses, educating our youth, and as well as sought after financial and business experts, dedicated government employees, sales and industry experts, medical professionals, technology specialists and legal professionals.

Recognizing the vast needs of our community, Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., Lambda Delta Sigma Chapter looks forward to strengthening community ties and building partnerships through continued service in Anne Arundel County.

front row:

Shenell Bolden, Kimberly Ellison-Taylor, Jean Y. Malone, Katrina Gray, and Adrienne Waite

back row:

Debra Y. Hughes, April Lewis, Temica Ferrigon, Delores Routh, Nakia Singleton, Katrina Gray, and Alisande Y. Brooks